View California law(s) used to prosecute naturists

CALIFORNIA LAW REQUIRING
SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION

290.  (a) (1) (A) Every person described in paragraph (2), for the
rest of his or her life while residing in, or, if he or she has no
residence, while located within California, or while attending school
or working in California, as described in subparagraph (G), shall be
required to register with the chief of police of the city in which
he or she is residing, or if he or she has no residence, is located,
or the sheriff of the county if he or she is residing, or if he or
she has no residence, is located, in an unincorporated area or city
that has no police department, and, additionally, with the chief of
police of a campus of the University of California, the California
State University, or community college if he or she is residing, or
if he or she has no residence, is located upon the campus or in any
of its facilities, within five working days of coming into, or
changing his or her residence or location within, any city, county,
or city and county, or campus in which he or she temporarily resides,
or, if he or she has no residence, is located.
   (B) If the person who is registering has more than one residence
address or location at which he or she regularly resides or is
located, he or she shall register in accordance with subparagraph (A)
in each of the jurisdictions in which he or she regularly resides or
is located.  If all of the addresses or locations are within the
same jurisdiction, the person shall provide the registering authority
with all of the addresses or locations where he or she regularly
resides or is located.
   (C)  If the person who is registering has no residence address, he
or she shall update his or her registration no less than once every
90 days in addition to the requirement in subparagraph (A), on a form
as may be required by the Department of Justice, with the entity or
entities described in subparagraph (A) in whose jurisdiction he or
she is located at the time he or she is updating the registration.
   (D)  Beginning on his or her first birthday following registration
or change of address, the person shall be required to register
annually, within five working days of his or her birthday, to update
his or her registration with the entities described in subparagraph
(A), including, verifying his or her name and address, or temporary
location, and place of employment including the name and address of
the employer, on a form as may be required by the Department of
Justice.
   (E)  In addition, every person who  has ever been adjudicated a
sexually violent predator, as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare
and Institutions Code, shall, after his or her release from custody,
verify his or her address no less than once every 90 days and place
of employment, including the name and address of the employer, in a
manner established by the Department of Justice.
   (F)  No entity shall require a person to pay a fee to register or
update his or her registration pursuant to this section.  The
registering agency shall submit registrations, including annual
updates or changes of address, directly into the Department of
Justice Violent Crime Information Network (VCIN).
   (G) Persons required to register in their state of residence who
are out-of-state residents employed in California on a full-time or
part-time basis, with or without compensation, for more than 14 days,
or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year,
shall register in accordance with subparagraph (A).  Persons
described in paragraph (2) who are out-of-state residents enrolled in
any educational institution in California, as defined in Section
22129 of the Education Code, on a full-time or part-time basis, shall
register in accordance with subparagraph (A).  The place where the
out-of-state resident is located, for purposes of registration, shall
be the place where the person is employed or attending school.  The
out-of-state resident subject to this subparagraph shall, in addition
to the information required pursuant to subdivision (e), provide the
registering authority with the name of his or her place of
employment or the name of the school attended in California, and his
or her address or location in his or her state of residence.  The
registration requirement for persons subject to this subparagraph
shall become operative on November 25, 2000.
   (2) The following persons shall be required to register pursuant
to paragraph (1):
   (A) Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or is hereafter
convicted in any court in this state or in any federal or military
court of a violation of Section 207 or 209 committed with intent to
violate Section 261, 286, 288, 288a, or 289, Section 220, except
assault to commit mayhem, Section 243.4, paragraph (1), (2), (3),
(4), or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261, or paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a) of Section 262 involving the use of force or violence
for which the person is sentenced to the state prison, Section
264.1, 266, 266c, subdivision (b) of Section 266h, subdivision (b) of
Section 266i, 266j, 267, 269, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.5, or 289,
subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2, Section 311.3, 311.4,
311.10, 311.11, or 647.6, former Section 647a, subdivision (c) of
Section 653f,
subdivision 1 or 2 of Section 314, any offense
involving lewd or lascivious conduct under Section 272, or any felony
violation of Section 288.2;
or any person who since that date has
been or is hereafter convicted of the attempt to commit any of the
above-mentioned offenses.
   (B) Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or hereafter is
released, discharged, or paroled from a penal institution where he or
she was confined because of the commission or attempted commission
of one of the offenses described in subparagraph (A).
   (C) Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or hereafter is
determined to be a mentally disordered sex offender under Article 1
(commencing with Section 6300) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6
of the Welfare and Institutions Code or any person who has been found
guilty in the guilt phase of a trial for an offense for which
registration is required by this section but who has been found not
guilty by reason of insanity in the sanity phase of the trial.
   (D) Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been, or is hereafter
convicted in any other court, including any state, federal, or
military court, of any offense which, if committed or attempted in
this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the offenses
described in subparagraph (A) or any person ordered by any other
court, including any state, federal, or military court, to register
as a sex offender for any offense, if the court found at the time of
conviction or sentencing that the person committed the offense as a
result of sexual compulsion or for purposes of sexual gratification.

   (E) Any person ordered by any court to register pursuant to this
section for any offense not included specifically in this section if
the court finds at the time of conviction or sentencing that the
person committed the offense as a result of sexual compulsion or for
purposes of sexual gratification.  The court shall state on the
record the reasons for its findings and the reasons for requiring
registration.
   (F) (i) Notwithstanding any other subdivision, a person who was
convicted before January 1, 1976, under subdivision (a) of Section
286, or Section 288a, shall not be required to register pursuant to
this section for that conviction if the conviction was for conduct
between consenting adults that was decriminalized by Chapter 71 of
the Statutes of 1975 or Chapter 1139 of the Statutes of 1976.  The
Department of Justice shall remove that person from the Sex Offender
Registry, and the person is discharged from his or her duty to
register pursuant to the following procedure:
   (I) The person submits to the Department of Justice official
documentary evidence, including court records or police reports,
which demonstrate that the person's conviction pursuant to either of
those sections was for conduct between consenting adults that was
decriminalized; or
   (II) The person submits to the department a declaration stating
that the person's conviction pursuant to either of those sections was
for consensual conduct between adults that has been decriminalized.
The declaration shall be confidential and not a public record, and
shall include the person's name, address, telephone number, date of
birth, and a summary of the circumstances leading to the conviction,
including the date of the conviction and county of the occurrence.
   (III) The department shall determine whether the person's
conviction was for conduct between consensual adults that has been
decriminalized.  If the conviction was for consensual conduct between
adults that has been decriminalized, and the person has no other
offenses for which he or she is required to register pursuant to this
section, the department shall, within 60 days of receipt of those
documents, notify the person that he or she is relieved of the duty
to register, and shall notify the local law enforcement agency with
which the person is registered that he or she has been relieved of
the duty to register.  The local law enforcement agency shall remove
the person's registration from its files within 30 days of receipt of
notification.  If the documentary or other evidence submitted is
insufficient to establish the person's claim, the department shall,
within 60 days of receipt of those documents, notify the person that
his or her claim cannot be established, and that the person shall
continue to register pursuant to this section.  The department shall
provide, upon the person's request, any information relied upon by
the department in making its determination that the person shall
continue to register pursuant to this section.  Any person whose
claim has been denied by the department pursuant to this clause may
petition the court to appeal the department's denial of the person's
claim.
   (ii) On or before July 1, 1998, the department shall make a report
to the Legislature concerning the status of persons who may come
under the provisions of this subparagraph, including the number of
persons who were convicted before January 1, 1976, under subdivision
(a) of Section 286 or Section 288a and are required to register under
this section, the average age of these persons, the number of these
persons who have any subsequent convictions for a registerable sex
offense, and the number of these persons who have sought successfully
or unsuccessfully to be relieved of their duty to register under
this section.
   (b) (1) Any person who is released, discharged, or paroled from a
jail, state or federal prison, school, road camp, or other
institution where he or she was confined because of the commission or
attempted commission of one of the offenses specified in subdivision
(a) or is released from a state hospital to which he or she was
committed as a mentally disordered sex offender under Article 1
(commencing with Section 6300) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6
of the Welfare and Institutions Code, shall, prior to discharge,
parole, or release, be informed of his or her duty to register under
this section by the official in charge of the place of confinement or
hospital, and the official shall require the person to read and sign
any form that may be required by the Department of Justice, stating
that the duty of the person to register under this section has been
explained to the person.  The official in charge of the place of
confinement or hospital shall obtain the address where the person
expects to reside upon his or her discharge, parole, or release and
shall report the address to the Department of Justice.
   (2) The official in charge of the place of confinement or hospital
shall give one copy of the form to the person and shall send one
copy to the Department of Justice and one copy to the appropriate law
enforcement agency or agencies having jurisdiction over the place
the person expects to reside upon discharge, parole, or release.  If
the conviction that makes the person subject to this section is a
felony conviction, the official in charge shall, not later than 45
days prior to the scheduled release of the person, send one copy to
the appropriate law enforcement agency or agencies having local
jurisdiction where the person expects to reside upon discharge,
parole, or release; one copy to the prosecuting agency that
prosecuted the person; and one copy to the Department of Justice.
The official in charge of the place of confinement or hospital shall
retain one copy.
   (c) Any person who is convicted in this state of the commission or
attempted commission of any of the offenses specified in subdivision
(a) and who is released on probation, granted conditional release
without supervised probation, or discharged upon payment of a fine
shall, prior to release or discharge, be informed of the duty to
register under this section by the probation department, and a
probation officer shall require the person to read and sign any form
that may be required by the Department of Justice, stating that the
duty of the person to register under this section has been explained
to him or her.  The probation officer shall obtain the address where
the person expects to reside upon release or discharge and shall
report within three days the address to the Department of Justice.
The probation officer shall give one copy of the form to the person,
send one copy to the Department of Justice, and forward one copy to
the appropriate law enforcement agency or agencies having local
jurisdiction where the person expects to reside upon his or her
discharge, parole, or release.
   (d) (1) Any person who, on or after January 1, 1986, is discharged
or paroled from the Department of the Youth Authority to the custody
of which he or she was committed after having been adjudicated a
ward of the juvenile court pursuant to Section 602 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code because of the commission or attempted commission
of any offense described in paragraph (3) shall be subject to
registration under the procedures of this section.
   (2) Any person who is discharged or paroled from a facility in
another state that is equivalent to the Department of the Youth
Authority, to the custody of which he or she was committed because of
an offense which, if committed or attempted in this state, would
have been punishable as one or more of the offenses described in
paragraph (3), shall be subject to registration under the procedures
of this section.
   (3) Any person described in this subdivision who committed an
offense in violation of any of the following provisions shall be
required to register pursuant to this section:
   (A) Assault with intent to commit rape, sodomy, oral copulation,
or any violation of Section 264.1, 288, or 289 under Section 220.
   (B) Any offense defined in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), or (6) of
subdivision (a) of Section 261, Section 264.1, 266c, or 267,
paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of, or subdivision (c) or (d) of,
Section 286, Section 288 or 288.5, paragraph (1) of subdivision (b)
of, or subdivision (c) or (d) of, Section 288a, subdivision (a) of
Section 289, or Section 647.6.
   (C) A violation of Section 207 or 209 committed with the intent to
violate Section 261, 286, 288, 288a, or 289.
   (4) Prior to discharge or parole from the Department of the Youth
Authority, any person who is subject to registration under this
subdivision shall be informed of the duty to register under the
procedures set forth in this section.  Department of the Youth
Authority officials shall transmit the required forms and information
to the Department of Justice.
   (5) All records specifically relating to the registration in the
custody of the Department of Justice, law enforcement agencies, and
other agencies or public officials shall be destroyed when the person
who is required to register has his or her records sealed under the
procedures set forth in Section 781 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code.  This subdivision shall not be construed as requiring the
destruction of other criminal offender or juvenile records relating
to the case that are maintained by the Department of Justice, law
enforcement agencies, the juvenile court, or other agencies and
public officials unless ordered by a court under Section 781 of the
Welfare and Institutions Code.
   (e) (1) On or after January 1, 1998, upon incarceration,
placement, or commitment, or prior to release on probation, any
person who is required to register under this section shall
preregister.  The preregistering official shall be the admitting
officer at the place of incarceration, placement, or commitment, or
the probation officer if the person is to be released on probation.
The preregistration shall consist of both of the following:
   (A) A preregistration statement in writing, signed by the person,
giving information that shall be required by the Department of
Justice.
   (B) The fingerprints and photograph of the person.
   (C) Any person who is preregistered pursuant to this subdivision
is required to be preregistered only once.
   (2) A person described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) shall
register, or reregister if the person has previously registered, upon
release from incarceration, placement, or commitment, pursuant to
paragraph (1) of subdivision (a).  The registration shall consist of
all of the following:
   (A) A statement in writing signed by the person, giving
information as shall be required by the Department of Justice and
giving the name and address of the person's employer, and the address
of the person's place of employment if that is different from the
employer's main address.
   (B) The fingerprints and photograph of the person.
   (C) The license plate number of any vehicle owned by, regularly
driven by, or registered in the name of the person.
   (D) Notice to the person that, in addition to the requirements of
paragraph (4), he or she may have a duty to register in any other
state where he or she may relocate.
   (E) Copies of adequate proof of residence, which shall be limited
to a California driver's license, California identification card,
recent rent or utility receipt, printed personalized checks or other
recent banking documents showing that person's name and address, or
any other information that the registering official believes is
reliable.  If the person has no residence and no reasonable
expectation of obtaining a residence in the foreseeable future, the
person shall so advise the registering official and shall sign a
statement provided by the registering official stating that fact.
Upon presentation of proof of residence to the registering official
or a signed statement that the person has no residence, the person
shall be allowed to register.  If the person claims that he or she
has a residence but does not have any proof of residence, he or she
shall be allowed to register but shall furnish proof of residence
within 30 days of the day he or she is allowed to register.
   (3) Within three days thereafter, the preregistering official or
the registering law enforcement agency or agencies shall forward the
statement, fingerprints, photograph, and vehicle license plate
number, if any, to the Department of Justice.
   (f) (1) If any person who is required to register pursuant to this
section changes his or her residence address or location, whether
within the jurisdiction in which he or she is currently registered or
to a new jurisdiction inside or outside the state, the person shall
inform, in writing within five working days, the law enforcement
agency or agencies with which he or she last registered of the new
address or location.  The law enforcement agency or agencies shall,
within three days after receipt of this information, forward a copy
of the change of address or location information to the Department of
Justice.  The Department of Justice shall forward appropriate
registration data to the law enforcement agency or agencies having
local jurisdiction of the new place of residence or location.
   (2) If the person's new address is in a Department of the Youth
Authority facility or a state prison or state mental institution, an
official of the place of incarceration, placement, or commitment
shall, within 90 days of receipt of the person, forward the
registrant's change of address information to the Department of
Justice.  The agency need not provide a physical address for the
registrant but shall indicate that he or she is serving a period of
incarceration or commitment in a facility under the agency's
jurisdiction.  This paragraph shall apply to persons received in a
Department of the Youth Authority facility or a state prison or state
mental institution on or after January 1, 1999.  The Department of
Justice shall forward the change of address information to the agency
with which the person last registered.
   (3) If any person who is required to register pursuant to this
section changes his or her name, the person shall inform, in person,
the law enforcement agency or agencies with which he or she is
currently registered within five working days.  The law enforcement
agency or agencies shall forward a copy of this information to the
Department of Justice within three days of its receipt.
   (g) (1) Any person who is required to register under this section
based on a misdemeanor conviction or juvenile adjudication who
willfully violates any requirement of this section is guilty of a
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding
one year.
   (2) Except as provided in paragraphs (5) and (7), any person who
is required to register under this section based on a felony
conviction or juvenile adjudication who willfully violates any
requirement of this section or who has a prior conviction or juvenile
adjudication for the offense of failing to register under this
section and who subsequently and willfully violates any requirement
of this section is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for 16 months, or two or three
years.
   If probation is granted or if the imposition or execution of
sentence is suspended, it shall be a condition of the probation or
suspension that the person serve at least 90 days in a county jail.
The penalty described in this paragraph shall apply whether or not
the person has been released on parole or has been discharged from
parole.
   (3) Any person determined to be a mentally disordered sex offender
or who has been found guilty in the guilt phase of trial for an
offense for which registration is required under this section, but
who has been found not guilty by reason of insanity in the sanity
phase of the trial, or who has had a petition sustained in a juvenile
adjudication for an offense for which registration is required under
this section pursuant to subdivision (d), but who has been found not
guilty by reason of insanity, who willfully violates any requirement
of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by
imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year.  For any second
or subsequent willful violation of any requirement of this section,
the person is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for 16 months, or two or three
years.
   (4) If, after discharge from parole, the person is convicted of a
felony or suffers a juvenile adjudication as specified in this
subdivision, he or she shall be required to complete parole of at
least one year, in addition to any other punishment imposed under
this subdivision.  A person convicted of a felony as specified in
this subdivision may be granted probation only in the unusual case
where the interests of justice would best be served.  When probation
is granted under this paragraph, the court shall specify on the
record and shall enter into the minutes the circumstances indicating
that the interests of justice would best be served by the
disposition.
   (5) Any person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent
predator, as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code, and who fails to verify his or her registration every 90 days
as required pursuant to subparagraph  (E) of paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a), shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison, or in a county jail not exceeding one year.
   (6) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (5), and in addition
to any other penalty imposed under this subdivision, any person who
is required pursuant to subparagraph  (C) of paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a) to update his or her registration every 90 days and
willfully fails to update his or her registration is guilty of a
misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail
not exceeding six months.  Any subsequent violation of this
requirement that persons described in subparagraph  (C) of paragraph
(1) of subdivision (a) shall update their registration every 90 days
is also a misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment in a
county jail not exceeding six months.
   (7) Any person who fails to provide proof of residence as required
by subparagraph (E) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e), regardless
of the offense upon which the duty to register is based, is guilty of
a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not
exceeding six months.
   (8) Any person who is required to register under this section who
willfully violates any requirement of this section is guilty of a
continuing offense.
   (h) Whenever any person is released on parole or probation and is
required to register under this section but fails to do so within the
time prescribed, the parole authority, the Youthful Offender Parole
Board, or the court, as the case may be, shall order the parole or
probation of the person revoked.  For purposes of this subdivision,
"parole authority" has the same meaning as described in Section 3000.

   (i) Except as provided in subdivisions (m) and (n) and Section
290.4, the statements, photographs, and fingerprints required by this
section shall not be open to inspection by the public or by any
person other than a regularly employed peace officer or other law
enforcement officer.
   (j) In any case in which a person who would be required to
register pursuant to this section for a felony conviction is to be
temporarily sent outside the institution where he or she is confined
on any assignment within a city or county including firefighting,
disaster control, or of whatever nature the assignment may be, the
local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the place or
places where the assignment shall occur shall be notified within a
reasonable time prior to removal from the institution.  This
subdivision shall not apply to any person who is temporarily released
under guard from the institution where he or she is confined.
   (k) As used in this section, "mentally disordered sex offender"
includes any person who has been determined to be a sexual psychopath
or a mentally disordered sex offender under any provision which, on
or before January 1, 1976, was contained in Division 6 (commencing
with Section 6000) of the Welfare and Institutions Code.
   (l) (1) Every person who, prior to January 1, 1997, is required to
register under this section, shall be notified whenever he or she
next reregisters of the reduction of the registration period from 14
to five working days.  This notice shall be provided in writing by
the registering agency or agencies.  Failure to receive this
notification shall be a defense against the penalties prescribed by
subdivision (g) if the person did register within 14 days.
                  (2) Every person who, as a sexually violent
predator, as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code, is required to verify his or her registration every 90 days,
shall be notified wherever he or she next registers of his or her
increased registration obligations.  This notice shall be provided in
writing by the registering agency or agencies.  Failure to receive
this notice shall be a defense against the penalties prescribed by
paragraph (5) of subdivision (g).
   (m) (1) When a peace officer reasonably suspects, based on
information that has come to his or her attention through information
provided by any peace officer or member of the public, that a child
or other person may be at risk from a sex offender convicted of a
crime listed in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 290.4, a
law enforcement agency may, notwithstanding any other provision of
law, provide any of the information specified in paragraph (4) of
this subdivision about that registered sex offender that the agency
deems relevant and necessary to protect the public, to the following
persons, agencies, or organizations the offender is likely to
encounter, including, but not limited to, the following:
   (A) Public and private educational institutions, day care
establishments, and establishments and organizations that primarily
serve individuals likely to be victimized by the offender.
   (B) Other community members at risk.
   (2) The law enforcement agency may authorize persons and entities
who receive the information pursuant to paragraph (1) to disclose
information to additional persons only if the agency does the
following:
   (A) Determines that all conditions set forth in paragraph (1) have
been satisfied regarding disclosure to the additional persons.
   (B) Identifies the appropriate scope of further disclosure.
   (3) Persons notified pursuant to paragraph (1) may disclose the
information provided by the law enforcement agency in the manner and
to the extent authorized by the law enforcement agency.
   (4) The information that may be disclosed pursuant to this section
includes the following:
   (A) The offender's full name.
   (B) The offender's known aliases.
   (C) The offender's gender.
   (D) The offender's race.
   (E) The offender's physical description.
   (F) The offender's photograph.
   (G) The offender's date of birth.
   (H) Crimes resulting in registration under this section.
   (I) The offender's address, which must be verified prior to
publication.
   (J) Description and license plate number of offender's vehicles or
vehicles the offender is known to drive.
   (K) Type of victim targeted by the offender.
   (L) Relevant parole or probation conditions, such as one
prohibiting contact with children.
   (M) Dates of crimes resulting in classification under this
section.
   (N) Date of release from confinement.
   However, information disclosed pursuant to this subdivision shall
not include information that would identify the victim.
   (5) If a law enforcement agency discloses information pursuant to
this subdivision, it shall include, with the disclosure, a statement
that the purpose of the release of the information is to allow
members of the public to protect themselves and their children from
sex offenders.
   (6) For purposes of this section, "likely to encounter" means both
of the following:
   (A) That the agencies, organizations, or other community members
are in a location or in close proximity to a location where the
offender lives or is employed, or that the offender visits or is
likely to visit on a regular basis.
   (B) The types of interaction that ordinarily occur at that
location and other circumstances indicate that contact with the
offender is reasonably probable.
   (7) For purposes of this section, "reasonably suspects" means that
it is objectively reasonable for a peace officer to entertain a
suspicion, based upon facts that could cause a reasonable person in a
like position, drawing when appropriate on his or her training and
experience, to suspect that a child or other person is at risk.
   (8) For purposes of this section, "at risk" means a person is or
may be exposed to a risk of becoming a victim of a sex offense
committed by the offender.
   (9) A law enforcement agency may continue to disclose information
on an offender under this subdivision for as long as the offender is
included in Section 290.4.
   (n) In addition to the procedures set forth elsewhere in this
section, a designated law enforcement entity may advise the public of
the presence of high-risk sex offenders in its community pursuant to
this subdivision.
   (1) For purposes of this subdivision:
   (A) A high-risk sex offender is a person who has been convicted of
an offense specified in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section
290.4, and also meets one of the following criteria:
   (i) Has been convicted of three or more violent sex offenses, at
least two of which were brought and tried separately.
   (ii) Has been convicted of two violent sex offenses and one or
more violent nonsex offenses, at least two of which were brought and
tried separately.
   (iii) Has been convicted of one violent sex offense and two or
more violent nonsex offenses, at least two of which were brought and
tried separately.
   (iv) Has been convicted of either two violent sex offenses or one
violent sex offense and one violent nonsex offense, at least two of
which were brought and tried separately, and has been arrested on
separate occasions for three or more violent sex offenses, violent
nonsex offenses, or associated offenses.
   (v) Has been adjudicated a sexually violent predator pursuant to
Article 4 (commencing with Section 6600) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of
Division 6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.
   (B) A violent sex offense means any offense defined in Section
220, except attempt to commit mayhem, or Section 261, 264.1, 286,
288, 288a, 288.5, 289, or 647.6, or infliction of great bodily injury
during the commission of a sex offense, as provided in Section
12022.8.
   (C) A violent nonsex offense means any offense defined in Section
187, subdivision (a) of Section 192, or Section 203, 206, 207, or
236, provided that the offense is a felony, subdivision (a) of
Section 273a, Section 273d or 451, or attempted murder, as defined in
Sections 187 and 664.
   (D) An associated offense means any offense defined in Section
243.4, provided that the offense is a felony, Section 311.1, 311.2,
311.3, 311.4, 311.5, 311.6, 311.7, or 314, Section 459, provided the
offense is of the first degree, Section 597 or 646.9, subdivision
(d), (h), or (i) of Section 647, Section 653m, or infliction of great
bodily injury during the commission of a felony, as defined in
Section 12022.7.
   (E) For purposes of subparagraphs (B) to (D), inclusive, an arrest
or conviction for the statutory predecessor of any of the enumerated
offenses, or an arrest or conviction in any other jurisdiction for
any offense  that, if committed or attempted in this state, would
have been punishable as one or more of the offenses described in
those subparagraphs, is to be considered in determining whether an
offender is a high-risk sex offender.
   (F) For purposes of subparagraphs (B) to (D), inclusive, an arrest
as a juvenile or an adjudication as a ward of the juvenile court
within the meaning of Section 602 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code for any of the offenses described in those subparagraphs is to
be considered in determining whether an offender is a high-risk sex
offender.
   (G) Notwithstanding subparagraphs (A) to (D), inclusive, an
offender shall not be considered to be a high-risk sex offender if
either of the following apply:
   (i) The offender's most recent conviction or arrest for an offense
described in subparagraphs (B) to (D), inclusive, occurred more than
five years prior to the high-risk assessment by the Department of
Justice, excluding periods of confinement.
   (ii) The offender notifies the Department of Justice, on a form
approved by the department and available at any sheriff's office,
that he or she has not been convicted in the preceding 15 years,
excluding periods of confinement, of an offense for which
registration is required under paragraph (2) of subdivision (a), and
the department is able, upon exercise of reasonable diligence, to
verify the information provided in paragraph (2).
   (H) "Confinement" means confinement in a jail, prison, school,
road camp, or other penal institution, confinement in a state
hospital to which the offender was committed as a mentally disordered
sex offender under Article 1 (commencing with Section 6300) of
Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code, or confinement in a facility designated by the Director of
Mental Health to which the offender was committed as a sexually
violent predator under Article 4 (commencing with Section 6600) of
Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code.
   (I) "Designated law enforcement entity" means any of the
following:  municipal police department; sheriff's department;
district attorney's office; county probation department; Department
of Justice; Department of Corrections; Department of the Youth
Authority; Department of the California Highway Patrol; or the police
department of any campus of the University of California, California
State University, or community college.
   (2) The Department of Justice shall continually search the records
provided to it pursuant to subdivision (b) and identify, on the
basis of those records, high-risk sex offenders.  Four times each
year, the department shall provide to each chief of police and
sheriff in the state, and to any other designated law enforcement
entity upon request, the following information regarding each
identified high-risk sex offender:  full name; known aliases; gender;
race; physical description; photograph; date of birth; and crimes
resulting in classification under this section.
   (3) The Department of Justice and any designated law enforcement
entity to which notice has been given pursuant to paragraph (2) may
cause to be made public, by whatever means the agency deems necessary
to ensure the public safety, based upon information available to the
agency concerning a specific person, including, but not limited to,
the information described in paragraph (2); the offender's address,
which shall be verified prior to publication; description and license
plate number of the offender's vehicles or vehicles the offender is
known to drive; type of victim targeted by the offender; relevant
parole or probation conditions, such as one prohibiting contact with
children; dates of crimes resulting in classification under this
section; and date of release from confinement; but excluding
information that would identify the victim.
   (4) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person
described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (p) who receives
information from a designated law enforcement entity pursuant to
paragraph (3) of subdivision (n) may disclose that information in the
manner and to the extent authorized by the law enforcement entity.
   (o) Agencies disseminating information to the public pursuant to
Section 290.4 shall maintain records of those persons requesting to
view the CD-ROM or other electronic media for a minimum of five
years.  Agencies disseminating information to the public pursuant to
subdivision (n) shall maintain records of the means and dates of
dissemination for a minimum of five years.
   (p) (1) Any law enforcement agency and employees of any law
enforcement agency shall be immune from liability for good faith
conduct under this section.  For the purposes of this section, "law
enforcement agency" means the Attorney General of California, every
district attorney, and every state or local agency expressly
authorized by statute to investigate or prosecute law violators.
   (2) Any public or private educational institution, day care
facility, or any child care custodian described in Section 11165.7,
or any employee of a public or private educational institution or day
care facility which in good faith disseminates information as
authorized pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (m) or paragraph
(4) of subdivision (n) that is provided by a law enforcement agency
or an employee of a law enforcement agency shall be immune from civil
liability.
   (q) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this
section to commit a felony shall be punished, in addition and
consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of
imprisonment in the state prison.  Any person who uses information
disclosed pursuant to this section to commit a misdemeanor shall be
subject to, in addition to any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine
of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) and not more than one
thousand dollars ($1,000).
   (r) The registration and public notification provisions of this
section are applicable to every person described in this section,
without regard to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her
duty to register pursuant to this section arose, and to every
offense described in this section, regardless of when it was
committed.

290.1.  Notwithstanding Section 1203.4 and except as provided in
Section 290.5, a person who is convicted of a sex offense for which
registration is required under Section 290 shall not be relieved from
the duty to register under that section.



290.3.  (a) Every person who is convicted of any offense specified
in subdivision (a) of Section 290 shall, in addition to any
imprisonment or fine, or both, imposed for violation of the
underlying offense, be punished by a fine of two hundred dollars
($200) upon the first conviction or a fine of three hundred dollars
($300) upon the second and each subsequent conviction, unless the
court determines that the defendant does not have the ability to pay
the fine.
   An amount equal to all fines collected pursuant to this
subdivision during the preceding month upon conviction of, or upon
the forfeiture of bail by, any person arrested for, or convicted of,
committing an offense specified in subdivision (a) of Section 290,
shall be transferred once a month by the county treasurer to the
Controller for deposit in the General Fund.  Moneys deposited in the
General Fund pursuant to this subdivision shall be transferred by the
Controller as provided in subdivision (b).
   (b) Out of the moneys deposited pursuant to subdivision (a) as a
result of second and subsequent convictions of Section 290, one-third
shall first be transferred to the Department of Justice Sexual
Habitual Offender Fund, as provided in paragraph (1) of this
subdivision.  Out of the remainder of all moneys deposited pursuant
to subdivision (a), 50 percent shall be transferred to the Department
of Justice Sexual Habitual Offender Fund, as provided in paragraph
(1), 25 percent shall be transferred to the Department of Justice DNA
Testing Fund, as provided in paragraph (2), and 25 percent shall be
allocated equally to counties that maintain a local DNA testing
laboratory, as provided in paragraph (3).
   (1) Those moneys so designated shall be transferred to the
Department of Justice Sexual Habitual Offender Fund created pursuant
to paragraph (5) of subdivision (b) of Section 11170 and, when
appropriated by the Legislature, shall be used for the purposes of
Chapter 9.5 (commencing with Section 13885) and Chapter 10
(commencing with Section 13890) of Title 6 of Part 4 for the purpose
of monitoring, apprehending, and prosecuting sexual habitual
offenders.
   (2) Those moneys so designated shall be directed to the Department
of Justice and transferred to the Department of Justice DNA Testing
Fund, which is hereby created, for the exclusive purpose of testing
deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) samples for law enforcement purposes.
The moneys in that fund shall be available for expenditure upon
appropriation by the Legislature.
   (3) Those moneys so designated shall be allocated equally and
distributed quarterly to counties that maintain a local DNA testing
laboratory.  Before making any allocations under this paragraph, the
Controller shall deduct the estimated costs that will be incurred to
set up and administer the payment of these funds to the counties.
Any funds allocated to a county pursuant to this paragraph shall be
used by that county for the exclusive purpose of testing DNA samples
for law enforcement purposes.
   (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the
Department of Corrections or the Department of the Youth Authority
may collect a fine imposed pursuant to this section from a person
convicted of a violation of any offense listed in subdivision (a) of
Section 290, that results in incarceration in a facility under the
jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections or the Department of
the Youth Authority.  All moneys collected by the Department of
Corrections or the Department of the Youth Authority under this
subdivision shall be transferred, once a month, to the Controller for
deposit in the General Fund, as provided in subdivision (a), for
transfer by the Controller, as provided in subdivision (b).



290.4.  (a) (1) The Department of Justice shall continually compile
information as described in paragraph (2) regarding any person
required to register under Section 290 for a conviction of Section
207 or 209 committed with the intent to violate Section 261, 286,
288, 288a, or 289; Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem;
Section 243.4, provided that the offense is a felony; paragraph (1),
(2), (3), (4), or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261; Section
264.1; Section 266, provided that the offense is a felony; Section
266c, provided that the offense is a felony; Section 266j; Section
267; Section 269; paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 286,
provided that the offense is a felony; paragraph (2) of subdivision
(b), subdivision (c), (d), (f), (g), (i), (j), or (k) of Section 286;
Section 288; paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 288a,
provided that the offense is a felony; paragraph (2) of subdivision
(b), (c), (d), (f), (g), (i), (j), or (k) of Section 288a; Section
288.5; subdivision (a), (b), (d), (e), (f), (g), or (h) of Section
289, provided that the offense is a felony; subdivision (i) or (j) of
Section 289; Section 647.6; or the statutory predecessor of any of
these offenses or any offense which, if committed or attempted in
this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the offenses
described in this section.  This requirement shall not be applied to
a person whose duty to register has been terminated pursuant to
paragraph (5) of subdivision (d) of Section 290, or to a person who
has been relieved of his or her duty to register under Section 290.5.

   (2) The information shall be categorized by community of residence
and ZIP Code.  The information shall include the names and known
aliases of the person, photograph, a physical description, gender,
race, date of birth, the criminal history, and the address, including
ZIP Code, in which the person resides, and any other information
that the Department of Justice deems relevant, not including
information that would identify the victim.
   (3) The department shall operate a "900" telephone number that
members of the public may call and inquire whether a named individual
is listed among those described in this subdivision.  The caller
shall furnish his or her first name, middle initial, and last name.
The department shall ascertain whether a named person reasonably
appears to be a person so listed and provide the caller with the
information described in paragraph (2), except the department shall
not disclose the name or address of a listed person's employer, or
the street address or criminal history of a person listed, except to
disclose the ZIP Code area in which the person resides and to
describe the specific crimes for which the registrant was required to
register.  The department shall decide whether the named person
reasonably appears to be a person listed, based upon information from
the caller providing information that shall include (A) an exact
street address, including apartment number, social security number,
California driver's license or identification number, or birth date
along with additional information that may include any of the
following:  name, hair color, eye color, height, weight, distinctive
markings, ethnicity; or (B) any combination of at least six of the
above listed characteristics if an exact birth date or address is not
available.  If three of the characteristics provided include
ethnicity, hair color, and eye color, a seventh identifying
characteristic shall be provided.  Any information identifying the
victim by name, birth date, address, or relation to the registrant
shall be excluded by the department.
   (4) (A) On or before July 1, 1997, the department shall provide a
CD-ROM or other electronic medium containing the information
described in paragraph (2), except the name or address of a listed
person's employer, or the listed person's street address and criminal
history other than the specific crimes for which the person was
required to register, for all persons described in paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a), and shall update and distribute the CD-ROM or other
electronic medium on a monthly basis to the sheriff's department in
each county, municipal police departments of cities with a population
of more than 200,000, and each law enforcement agency listed in
subparagraph (I) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (n) of Section 290.
These law enforcement agencies may obtain additional copies by
purchasing a yearly subscription to the CD-ROM or other electronic
medium from the Department of Justice for a yearly subscription fee.
The Department of Justice, the sheriff's departments, and the
municipal police departments of cities with a population of more than
200,000 shall make, and the other law enforcement agencies may make,
the CD-ROM or other electronic medium available for viewing by the
public in accordance with the following:  The agency may require that
a person applying to view the CD-ROM or other electronic medium
express an articulable purpose in order to have access thereto.  The
applicant shall provide identification in the form of a California
driver's license or California identification card, showing the
applicant to be at least 18 years of age, and shall sign a statement,
on a form provided by the Department of Justice, stating that the
applicant is not a registered sex offender, that he or she
understands the purpose of the release of information is to allow
members of the public to protect themselves and their children from
sex offenders, and he or she understands it is unlawful to use
information obtained from the CD-ROM or other electronic medium to
commit a crime against any registrant or to engage in illegal
discrimination or harassment of any registrant.  The signed statement
shall be maintained in a file in the designated law enforcement
agency's office.
   (B) The records of persons requesting to view the CD-ROM or other
electronic medium are confidential, except that a copy of the
applications requesting to view the CD-ROM or other electronic medium
may be disclosed to law enforcement agencies for law enforcement
purposes.
   (C) Any information identifying the victim by name, birth date,
address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded from the
CD-ROM or other electronic medium.
   (5) (A) The income from the operation of the "900" telephone
number shall be deposited in the Sexual Predator Public Information
Account, which is hereby established within the Department of Justice
for the purpose of the implementation of this section by the
Department of Justice, including all actual and reasonable costs
related to establishing and maintaining the information described in
subdivision (a) and the CD-ROM or other electronic medium described
in this subdivision.
   (B) The moneys in the Sexual Predator Public Information Account
shall consist of income from the operation of the "900" telephone
number program authorized by this section, proceeds of the loan made
pursuant to Section 6 of the act adding this section, and any other
funds made available to the account by the Legislature.  Moneys in
the account shall be available to the Department of Justice upon
appropriation by the Legislature for the purpose specified in
subparagraph (A).
   (C) When the "900" telephone number is called, a preamble shall be
played before charges begin to accrue.  The preamble shall run at
least the length of time required by federal law and shall provide
the following information:
   (i) Notice that the caller's telephone number will be recorded.
   (ii) The charges for use of the "900" telephone number.
   (iii) Notice that the caller is required to identify himself or
herself to the operator.
   (iv) Notice that the caller is required to be 18 years of age or
older.
   (v) A warning that it is illegal to use information obtained
through the "900" telephone number to commit a crime against any
registrant or to engage in illegal discrimination or harassment
against any registrant.
   (vi) Notice that the caller is required to have the birth date,
California driver's license or identification number, social security
number, address, or other identifying information regarding the
person about whom information is sought in order to achieve a
positive identification of that person.
   (vii) A statement that the number is not a crime hotline and that
any suspected criminal activity should be reported to local
authorities.
   (viii) A statement that the caller should have a reasonable
suspicion that a person is at risk.
   (D) The Department of Justice shall expend no more than six
hundred thousand dollars ($600,000) per year from any moneys
appropriated by the Legislature from the account.
   (b) (1) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this
section to commit a felony shall be punished, in addition and
consecutive to, any other punishment, by a five-year term of
imprisonment in the state prison.
   (2) Any person who, without authorization, uses information
disclosed pursuant to this section to commit a misdemeanor shall be
subject to, in addition to any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine
of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) and not more than one
thousand dollars ($1,000).
   (c) The record of the compilation of offender information on each
CD-ROM or other electronic medium distributed pursuant to this
section shall be used only for law enforcement purposes and the
public safety purposes specified in this section and Section 290.
This record shall not be distributed or removed from the custody of
the law enforcement agency that is authorized to retain it.
Information obtained from this record shall be disclosed to a member
of the public only as provided in this section or Section 290, or any
other statute expressly authorizing it.
   Any person who copies, distributes, discloses, or receives this
record or information from it, except as authorized by law, is guilty
of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not to
exceed six months or by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars
($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.  This subdivision
shall not apply to a law enforcement officer who makes a copy as part
of his or her official duties in the course of a criminal
investigation, court case, or as otherwise authorized by subdivision
(n) of Section 290.  This subdivision shall not prohibit copying
information by handwriting.
   Notwithstanding Section 6254.5 of the Government Code, disclosure
of information pursuant to this section is not a waiver of exemptions
under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of Title 1 of
Division 7 of the Government Code and does not affect other statutory
restrictions on disclosure in other situations.
   (d) Unauthorized removal or destruction of the CD-ROM or other
electronic medium from the offices of any law enforcement agency is a
misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not to
exceed one year, or by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars
($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.
   (e) (1) A person is authorized to use information disclosed
pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk.
   This section shall not affect authorized access to, or use of,
information pursuant to, among other provisions, Sections 11105 and
11105.3 of this code, Section 226.55 of the Civil Code, Sections
777.5 and 14409.2 of the Financial Code, Sections 1522.01 and
1596.871 of the Health and Safety Code, and Section 432.7 of the
Labor Code.
   (2) Except as authorized under paragraph (1) or any other
provision of law, use of any information, for purposes relating to
any of the following, and that is disclosed pursuant to this section,
is prohibited:
   (A) Health insurance.
   (B) Insurance.
   (C) Loans.
   (D) Credit.
   (E) Employment.
   (F) Education, scholarships, or fellowships.
   (G) Housing or accommodations.
   (H) Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business
establishment.
   (3) (A) Any use of information disclosed pursuant to this section
for purposes other than those provided by paragraph (1) of
subdivision (e) or in violation of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e)
shall make the user liable for the actual damages, and any amount
that may be determined by a jury or a court sitting without a jury,
not exceeding three times the amount of actual damage, and not less
than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), and attorney's fees, exemplary
damages, or a civil penalty not exceeding twenty-five thousand
dollars ($25,000).
   (B) Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person
or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or practice of misuse of
the "900" telephone number in violation of paragraph (2) of
subdivision (e), the Attorney General, any district attorney, or city
attorney, or any person aggrieved by the misuse of that number is
authorized to bring a civil action in the appropriate court
requesting preventive relief, including an application for a
permanent or temporary injunction, restraining order, or other order
against the person or group of persons responsible for the pattern or
practice of misuse.  The foregoing remedies shall be independent of
any other remedies or procedures that may be available to an
aggrieved party under other provisions of law, including Part 2
(commencing with Section 43) of Division 1 of the Civil Code.
   (f) This section shall not be deemed to authorize the publication,
distribution, or disclosure of the address of any person about whom
information can be published, distributed, or disclosed pursuant to
this section.
   (g) Community notification shall be governed by subdivisions (m)
and (n) of Section 290.
   (h) The Department of Justice shall submit to the Legislature an
annual report on the operation of the "900" telephone number required
by paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) on July 1, 1996, July 1, 1997,
and July 1, 1998.  The annual report shall include all of the
following:
   (1) Number of calls received.
   (2) Amount of income earned per year through operation of the "900"
telephone number.
   (3) A detailed outline of the amount of money expended and the
manner in which it was expended for purposes of this section.
   (4) Number of calls that resulted in an affirmative response and
the number of calls that resulted in a negative response with regard
to whether a named individual was listed pursuant to subdivision (a).

   (5) Number of persons listed pursuant to subdivision (a).
   (6) A summary of the success of the "900" telephone number program
based upon selected factors.
   (i) Any law enforcement agency and employees of any law
enforcement  agency shall be immune from liability for good faith
conduct under this section.  For the purposes of this section, "law
enforcement agency" means the Attorney General of California, every
district attorney, and every state or local agency expressly
authorized by statute to investigate or prosecute law violators.
   (j) On or before July 1, 2000, the Department of Justice shall
make a report to the Legislature concerning the changes to the
operation of the "900" telephone number program made by the
amendments to this section by Chapter 908 of the Statutes of 1996.
The report shall include all of the following:
   (1) Number of calls received by county.
   (2) Number of calls that resulted in an affirmative response and
the number of calls that resulted in a negative response with regard
to whether a named individual was listed pursuant to subdivision (a).

   (3) Number of persons listed pursuant to subdivision (a).
   (4) Statistical information concerning prosecutions of persons for
misuse of the "900" telephone number program, including the outcomes
of those prosecutions.
   (5) A summary of the success of the "900" telephone number based
upon selected factors.
   (k) The registration and public notification provisions of this
section are applicable to every person described in these sections,
without regard to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her
duty to register pursuant to this section arose, and to every
offense described in these sections, regardless of when it was
committed.
   (l) No later than December 31, 1998, the Department of Justice
shall prepare an informational pamphlet that shall be mailed to any
member of the public who makes an inquiry using the "900" telephone
number required by this section and who provides an address.  The
pamphlet shall provide basic information concerning appropriate steps
parents, guardians, and other responsible adults can take to ensure
a child is safe from a suspected child molester, including, but not
limited to, how to identify suspicious activity by an adult, common
facts and myths about child molesters, and how to obtain additional
help and information.  A notice to callers to the "900" telephone
number that they will receive the pamphlet, if an address is
provided, shall be included in the preamble required by this section.

   (m) This section shall remain operative only until January 1,
2001, and as of that date is repealed unless a later enacted statute,
which becomes effective on or before that date, deletes or extends
that date.



290.5.  (a) A person required to register under Section 290 may
initiate a proceeding under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section
4852.01) of Title 6 of Part 3, and, except persons described in
paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 290.4, upon obtaining a
certificate of rehabilitation, shall be relieved of any further duty
to register under Section 290 if not in custody, on parole, or on
probation.  This certificate shall not relieve persons described in
paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 290.4 of the duty to
register under Section 290 and shall not relieve a petitioner of the
duty to register under Section 290 for any offense subject to that
section of which he or she is convicted in the future.
   (b) (1) Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3), a person
described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 290.4 shall
not be relieved of the duty to register until that person has
obtained a full pardon as provided in Chapter 1 (commencing with
Section 4800) or Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 4850) of Title 6
of Part 3.
   (2) This subdivision does not apply to misdemeanor violations of
Section 647.6.
   (3) The court, upon granting a petition for a certificate of
rehabilitation pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section
4852.01) of Title 6 of Part 3, if the petition was granted prior to
January 1, 1998, may relieve a person of the duty to register under
Section 290 for a violation of Section 288 or 288.5, provided that
the person was granted probation pursuant to subdivision (c) of
Section 1203.066, has complied with the provisions of Section 290 for
a continuous period of at least 10 years immediately preceding the
filing of the petition, and has not been convicted of a felony during
that period.



290.6.  (a) Fifteen days before the scheduled release date of a
person described in subdivision (b), the Department of Corrections
shall provide to local law enforcement all of the following
information regarding the person:
   (1) Name.
   (2) Community residence and address, including ZIP Code.
   (3) Physical description.
   (4) Conviction information.
   (b) This subdivision shall apply to any person sentenced to the
state prison who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 for
a conviction of an offense specified in paragraph (1) of subdivision
(a) of Section 290.4.
   (c) For the purpose of this section, "law enforcement" includes
any agency with which the person will be required to register upon
his or her release pursuant to Section 290 based upon the person's
community of residence upon release.
   (d) If it is not possible for the Department of Corrections to
provide the information specified in subdivision (a) on a date that
is 15 days before the scheduled release date, the information shall
be provided on the next business day following that date.
   (e) The Department of Corrections shall notify local law
enforcement within 36 hours of learning of the change if the
scheduled release date or any of the required information changes
prior to the scheduled release date.



290.7.  The Department of Corrections shall provide samples of blood
and saliva taken from a prison inmate pursuant to the DNA and
Forensic Identification Data Base and Data Bank Act of 1998 (Chapter
6 (commencing with Section 295) of Title 9 of Part 1 of the Penal
Code) to the county in which the inmate is to be released if the
county maintains a local DNA testing laboratory.



290.8.  Effective January 1, 1999, any local law enforcement agency
that does not register sex offenders during regular daytime business
hours on a daily basis, excluding weekends and holidays, shall notify
the regional parole office for the Department of Corrections and the
regional parole office for the Department of the Youth Authority of
the days, times, and locations the agency is available for
registration of sex offenders pursuant to Section 290.



290.85.  Every parolee who is required to register as a sex
offender, pursuant to Section 290, shall provide proof of
registration to his or her parole agent within six working days of
release on parole.  The six-day period for providing proof of
registration may be extended only upon determination by the parole
agent that unusual circumstances exist relating to the availability
of local law enforcement registration capabilities that preclude the
parolee's ability to meet the deadline.  Every parolee who is
required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 shall
provide proof of any revision or annual update to his or her
registration information to his or her parole agent at his or her
next scheduled supervision appointment.



290.9.  (a) The Department of Justice shall report to the
Legislature no later than July 1, 1999, on the implementation and
effectiveness of the 90-day registration requirement imposed on
sexually violent predators under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of
Section 290.
   (b) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1,
2000, and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted
statute, that is enacted before January 1, 2000, deletes or extends
that date.


290.95.  Every person required to register under Section 290, who
applies or accepts a position as an employee or volunteer with any
person, group, or organization where the registrant would be working
directly and in an unaccompanied setting with minor children on more
than an incidental and occasional basis or have supervision or
disciplinary power over minor children, shall disclose his or her
status as a registrant, upon application or acceptance of a position,
to that person, group, or organization.  A violation of this section
is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not
exceeding six months, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars
($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine, and a violation of
this section shall not constitute a continuing offense.



291.  Every sheriff or chief of police, upon the arrest for any of
the offenses enumerated in Section 290 or in subdivision 1 of Section
261,  or Section 44010 of the Education Code of any school employee,
shall do either of the following:
   (a) If the school employee is a teacher in any of the public
schools of this state, he or she shall immediately notify by
telephone the superintendent of schools of the school district
employing the teacher and shall immediately give written notice of
the arrest to the Commission for Teacher Preparation and Licensing
and to the superintendent of schools in the county wherein the person
is employed.  Upon receipt of the notice, the county superintendent
of schools shall immediately notify the governing board of the school
district employing the person.
   (b) If the school employee is a nonteacher in any of the public
schools of this state, he or she shall immediately notify by
telephone the superintendent of schools of the school district
employing the nonteacher and shall immediately give written notice of
the arrest to the governing board of the school district employing
the person.



291.1.  Every sheriff or chief of police, upon the arrest for any of
the offenses enumerated in Section 290 of any person who is employed
as a teacher in any private school of this state, shall immediately
give written notice of the arrest to the private school authorities
employing the teacher.  The sheriff or chief of police shall
immediately notify by telephone the private school authorities
employing such teacher.



291.5.  Every sheriff or chief of police, upon the arrest for any of
the offenses enumerated in Section 290 or in subdivision (1) of
Section 261 of any teacher or instructor employed in any community
college district shall immediately notify by telephone the
superintendent of the community college district employing the
teacher or instructor and shall immediately give written notice of
the arrest to the Office of the Chancellor of the California
Community Colleges.  Upon receipt of such notice, the district
superintendent shall immediately notify the governing board of the
community college district employing the person.



292.  It is the intention of the Legislature in enacting this
section to clarify that for the purposes of subdivisions (b) and (c)
of Section 12 of Article I of the California Constitution, a
violation of paragraph (2) or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261,
paragraph (1) or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 262, Section
264.1, subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 286, subdivision (b) of
Section 288, subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 288a, or subdivision
(a) of Section 289, shall be deemed to be a felony offense involving
an act of violence and a felony offense involving great bodily harm.



293.  (a) Any employee of a law enforcement agency who personally
receives a report from any person, alleging that the person making
the report has been the victim of a sex offense, shall inform that
person that his or her name will become a matter of public record
unless he or she requests that it not become a matter of public
record, pursuant to Section 6254 of the Government Code.
   (b) Any written report of an alleged sex offense shall indicate
that the alleged victim has been properly informed pursuant to
subdivision (a) and shall memorialize his or her response.
   (c) No law enforcement agency shall disclose to any person, except
the prosecutor, parole officers of the Department of Corrections,
hearing officers of the parole authority, or other persons or public
agencies where authorized or required by law, the address of a person
who alleges to be the victim of a sex offense.
   (d) No law enforcement agency shall disclose to any person, except
the prosecutor, parole officers of the Department of Corrections,
hearing officers of the parole authority, or other persons or public
agencies where authorized or required by law, the name of a person
who alleges to be the victim of a sex offense, if that person has
elected to exercise his or her right pursuant to this section and
Section 6254 of the Government Code.
   (e) For purposes of this section, sex offense means any crime
listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (f) of Section 6254 of the
Government Code which is also defined in Chapter 1 (commencing with
Section 261) or Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 281) of Part 1 of
Title 9.
   (f) Parole officers of the Department of Corrections and hearing
officers of the parole authority shall be entitled to receive
information pursuant to subdivisions (c) and (d) only if the person
to whom the information pertains alleges that he or she is the victim
of a sex offense, the alleged perpetrator of which is a parolee who
is alleged to have committed the sex offense while on parole.



293.5.  (a) Except as provided in Chapter 10 (commencing with
Section 1054) of Part 2 of Title 7, or for cases in which the alleged
victim of a sex offense, as specified in subdivision (e) of Section
293, has not elected to exercise his or her right pursuant to Section
6254 of the Government Code, the court, at the request of the
alleged victim, may order the identity of the alleged victim in all
records and during all proceedings to be either Jane Doe or John Doe,
if the court finds that such an order is reasonably necessary to
protect the privacy of the person and will not unduly prejudice the
prosecution or the defense.
   (b) If the court orders the alleged victim to be identified as
Jane Doe or John Doe pursuant to subdivision (a) and if there is a
jury trial, the court shall instruct the jury, at the beginning and
at the end of the trial, that the alleged victim is being so
identified only for the purpose of protecting his or her privacy
pursuant to this section.



294.  (a) Upon conviction of any person for a violation of Section
273a, 273d, 288.5, 311.2, 311.3, or 647.6, the court may, in addition
to any other penalty or restitution fine imposed, order the
defendant to pay a restitution fine based on the defendant's ability
to pay not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), upon a felony
conviction, or one thousand dollars ($1,000), upon a misdemeanor
conviction, to be deposited in the Restitution  Fund to be
transferred to the county children's trust fund for the purposes of
child abuse prevention.
   (b) Upon conviction of any person for a violation of Section 261,
264.1, 285, 286, 288a, or 289 where the violation is with a minor
under the age of 14 years, the court may, in addition to any other
penalty or restitution fine imposed, order the defendant to pay a
restitution fine based on the defendant's ability to pay not to
exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), upon a felony conviction, or
one thousand dollars ($1,000), upon a misdemeanor conviction, to be
deposited in the Restitution Fund to be transferred to the county
children's trust fund for the purpose of child abuse prevention.
   (c) If the perpetrator is a member of the immediate family of the
victim, the court shall consider in its decision to impose a fine
under this section any hardship that may impact the victim from the
imposition of the fine.
   (d) If the court orders a fine to be imposed pursuant to this
section, the actual administrative cost of collecting that fine, not
to exceed 2 percent of the total amount paid, may be paid into the
general fund of the county treasury for the use and benefit of the
county.


------------------------------------

CALIFORNIA CODES
PENAL CODE
SECTION 314-318.6




314.  Every person who willfully and lewdly, either:    1. Exposes
his person, or the private parts thereof, in any public place, or in
any place where there are present other persons to be offended or
annoyed thereby; or,   2. Procures, counsels, or assists any person
so to expose himself or take part in any model artist exhibition, or
to make any other exhibition of himself to public view, or the view
of any number of persons, such as is offensive to decency, or is
adapted to excite to vicious or lewd thoughts or acts,
is guilty of a misdemeanor.
   Every person who violates subdivision 1 of this section after
having entered, without consent, an inhabited dwelling house, or
trailer coach as defined in Section 635 of the Vehicle Code, or the
inhabited portion of any other building, is punishable by
imprisonment in the state prison, or in the county jail not exceeding
one year.
   Upon the second and each subsequent conviction under subdivision 1
of this section, or upon a first conviction under subdivision 1 of
this section after a previous conviction under Section 288, every
person so convicted is guilty of a felony, and is punishable by
imprisonment in state prison.

315.  Every person who keeps a house of ill-fame in this state,
resorted to for the purposes of prostitution or lewdness, or who
willfully resides in such house, is guilty of a misdemeanor; and in
all prosecutions for keeping or resorting to such a house common
repute may be received as competent evidence of the character of the
house, the purpose for which it is kept or used, and the character of
the women inhabiting or resorting to it.

316.  Every person who keeps any disorderly house, or any house for
the purpose of assignation or prostitution, or any house of public
resort, by which the peace, comfort, or decency of the immediate
neighborhood is habitually disturbed, or who keeps any inn in a
disorderly manner; and every person who lets any apartment or
tenement, knowing that it is to be used for the purpose of
assignation or prostitution, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

318.  Whoever, through invitation or device, prevails upon any
person to visit any room, building, or other places kept for the
purpose of illegal gambling or prostitution, is guilty of a
misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in the
county jail not exceeding six months, or fined not exceeding five
hundred dollars ($500), or be punished by both that fine and
imprisonment.

318.5.  (a) Nothing in this code shall invalidate an ordinance of,
or be construed to prohibit the adoption of an ordinance by, a county
or city, if that ordinance directly regulates the exposure of the
genitals or buttocks of any person, or the breasts of any female
person, who acts as a waiter, waitress, or entertainer, whether or
not the owner of the establishment in which the activity is performed
employs or pays any compensation to that person to perform the
activity, in an adult or sexually oriented business.  For purposes of
this section, an "adult or sexually oriented business" includes any
establishment that regularly features live performances which are
distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on the exposure of the
genitals or buttocks of any person, or the breasts of any female
person, or specified sexual activities that involve the exposure of
the genitals or buttocks of any person, or the breasts of any female
person.

   (b) The provisions of this section shall not be construed to apply
to any adult or sexually oriented business, as defined herein, that
has been adjudicated by a court of competent jurisdiction to be, or
by action of a local body such as issuance of an adult entertainment
establishment license or permit allowing the business to operate on
or before July 1, 1998, as, a theater, concert hall, or similar
establishment primarily devoted to theatrical performances for
purposes of this section.

   This section shall be known and may be cited as the "Quimby-Walsh
Act."

318.6.  (a) Nothing in this code shall invalidate an ordinance of,
or be construed to prohibit the adoption of an ordinance by, a city
or county, if that ordinance relates to any live acts,
demonstrations, or exhibitions occurring within adult or sexually
oriented businesses and involve the exposure of the genitals or
buttocks of any participant or the breasts of any female participant,
and if that ordinance prohibits an act or acts which are not
expressly authorized or prohibited by this code.
   (b) For purposes of this section, an "adult or sexually oriented
business" includes any establishment that regularly features live
performances which are distinguished or characterized by an emphasis
on the exposure of the genitals or buttocks of any person, or the
breasts of any female person or sexual activities that involve the
exposure of the genitals or buttocks of any person, or the breasts of
any female person.
   (c) The provisions of this section shall not be construed to apply
to any adult or sexually oriented business, as defined herein, that
has been adjudicated by a court of competent jurisdiction to be, or
by action of a local body such as issuance of an adult entertainment
establishment license or permit allowing the business to operate on
or before July 1, 1998, as, a theater, concert hall, or similar
establishment primarily devoted to theatrical performances for
purposes of this section.
   (d) This section shall not be construed to preempt the legislative
body of any city or county from regulating an adult or sexually
oriented business, or similar establishment, in the manner and to the
extent permitted by the United States Constitution and the
California Constitution.